Mary J. Blige, Janelle Monae, Other Honored At Black Girls Rock! Awards

posted October 01, 2009 12:39:00 AM CDT | 5 comments

The 2009 Black Girls Rock! Awards is a fundraising event which provides creative arts programs and mentoring for teenage women of color.

The event, which is annual and in its fourth year, will honor Mary J. Blige, Raven Symone, Sonia Sanchez, Naomi Campbell, Janelle Monae, Dr. Mehret Mandefro and others.

Hosted by Regina King and Tracee Ellis Ross, the event will be held on October 17 at the Times Center located in New York City's Times Square District. It was founded by internationally renowned deejay Beverly Bond.

Other honorees and participants have, in the past, included Iman, Erkykah Badu, Jennifer Hudson, Melvin Van Peebles, Chrisette Michele, President of Spelman College Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum, Bethann Hardison, Missy Elliot, Veronica Webb, Susan L. Taylor, Pam Greier, Idris Elba, Estelle, Ryan Leslie, Sylvia Rhone and more.

Blige and Campbell are known for their musical pursuits, while Naomic Campbell is a supermodel and fashion icon. Mandefro is the founder of TruthAIDS, as well as a White House Fellow.

Other participants in this years awards will include actress Kerry Washington, philanthropist Jessica Seinfeld, Essence Magazine's Emil Wilbekin, visual artist Vic Muniz, producer Bryan-Michael Cox and more.

To purchase tickets to the event, please visit

Share This

one moment...
Reply To This Comment

Got an account with one of these? Log in here, or just enter your info and leave a comment below.