VH1 Announces 5th Annual "Hip Hop Honors" Performers

posted September 09, 2008 08:46:21 AM CDT | 42 comments

As momentum builds for the Oct. 6 airing of VH1's Hip Hop Honors, the network has announced the tentative roster of this year's performers. As previously announced on HipHopDX.com [click to read], Tracy Morgan will resume host duties. The 2008 ceremony will honor Cypress Hill, De La Soul, Slick Rick, Naughty By Nature and Too $hort. Big Boi of Outkast will be joined by Scarface, Lil Wayne, Ghostface Killah, Q-Tip, Lil John, Wyclef Jean, Kid Rock and MC Lyte will all perform to honor this year's guests in some capacity. Actress Sanaa Lathan will also be a part of the festivities as well as the comedy duo Robert "Cheech" Marin and Tommy Chong.

For those fortunate enough to attend the live event, the ceremony will be held Oct. 2 at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York. VH1 plans to announce additional performances and appearances closer to the show date, and updates will be provided at HipHop.Vh1.com. Much like last year's ceremony, awards for non-performing aspects of Hip Hop will be decided on by fans. Fan votes will be taken for Hip Hop's best radio station, gear site, blog, city and/or venue as well as the best overall Hip Hop website.

Share This

one moment...
Reply To This Comment

Got an account with one of these? Log in here, or just enter your info and leave a comment below.