FREE DOWNLOAD: Crooked I & Jay-Z

posted April 30, 2008 01:49:54 PM CDT | 57 comments

This past December on the World Famous Wake Up Show in Los Angeles, King Tech stated that Crooked I "is just as good (if not better) than Jay-Z." He continued to say that he didn't care how many albums Jay-Z has sold, "lyric for lyric as an emcee. Jay-Z is known as one of the's about time we try to figure out who is the best. If we had one West Coast representer I would say Crooked I."

On air, DJ Revolution and King Tech had a "battle" in which Rev would play any Jay-Z record and have King respond with a Crooked I track. The phone lines blew up with fans supporting each artist.

Here at HipHopDX, we didn't want to take sides and we don't want to put these two against each other so we reached out for Crooked I to host a mixtape that features music from both artists. Compiled and mixed by Shake and DJ Slimm (Shake & Bake). Again, this is no battle. Just good music.

01 Intro
02 Crooked I - Oh My God
03 Jay-Z - Oh My God
04 Jay-Z - C'mon Baby
05 Jay-Z - Welcome to NYC
06 Crooked I - Welcome to LBC
07 Crooked I - Creased Khaki Flow
08 Interlude
09 Crooked I - Boom Boom Clap
10 Interlude
11 Jay-Z - Allure (Kompo Remix)
12 Jay-Z - Hovi Baby
13 Jay-Z - Umbrella
14 Crooked I - Umbrella
15 Crooked I & Jay-Z - Long Beach to Brooklyn
16 Crooked I - Rap 101
17 Crooked I - The Kite
18 Crooked I - Blueprint
19 Jay-Z - Blueprint
20 Crooked I - Doin' Dat
21 Interlude
22 Crooked I - More Than Music
23 Jay-Z - So Ghetto
24 Jay-Z - Wake Up
25 Crooked I - Who Dem Boyz
26 Jay-Z - What More Can I Say (Pacific Time Zone Remix)
27 Crooked I - A Capella
28 Crooked I - Str8 Bosses
29 Jay-Z - You're Welcome
30 Jay-Z - Beach Chair
31 Crooked I - Man Up
32 Crooked I - Dynasty
33 Crooked I - All I Ever Wanted / Outro

HipHopDX Presents: Crooked I & Jay-Z - Reserved for the Bosses (Hosted by Crooked I & Mixed by DJ Slimm) [click to download]

If you haven't already, check out Part 1 of our video interview with Crooked I himself [click to view]. We speak on his Hip Hop Weekly Series, from the creation to his personal favorites. His upcoming album, B.O.S.S. is brought up along with the single featuring Akon. Crook displays his love for Bun B, his disliking for DMX and more.

Share This

one moment...
Reply To This Comment

Got an account with one of these? Log in here, or just enter your info and leave a comment below.