T.I. Reveals "Paperwork" Film Plans, Album Release Date, Cover Art & Tracklist

posted Friday September 19 ,2014 at 12:00PM CDT | 108 comments

T.I. Reveals

UPDATE #3: T.I. reveals the tracklist for his upcoming effort, "Paperwork."

T.I.'s upcoming album, Paperwork, set to feature production from Pharrell, is a project that T.I. says will encompass many qualities that have come to define his career.

"Paperwork is official," he says in an interview with New York radio station Hot 97. "If you've got paperwork on something, it's official. Also, if someone has paperwork on you, then it could be some trouble. So, it's official, it's trouble, it's authentic. Sounds like me. The music supports this theory very well." 

Paperwork is set to be a different type of album for T.I.

"This is the first time in my career that I have had enough time to create all the music, get the sequencing down, even before I start my clock and put myself on the calendar," he says. "Now that I have all of the music...I could take my time and step back and make sure it's the perfect blend, to create the perfect amount of synergy between trap music and art house."

T.I. says he is handling the trap house aspect of the project while Pharrell manages the art house elements. Together, the two have recorded 250 songs, according to T.I. 

“I have narrowed those 250 down to the best 25," T.I. says. "5 extras are for international releases [and additional releases]...I want to narrow that 25 down to 20. Of that 20, I want to take six records at the top, six records in the middle, six records at the end, with two records as intermissions to the three. And I would like to shoot a movie that consists of three short stories, and the three short stories will connect these...records." 

Despite Pharrell advising T.I. to release three individual projects for each short story, T.I. says he plans on releasing all of these songs on one album. He likens the release of all of the tracks to Beyonce's self-titled 2013 album, which also contained videos for each song. He notes a difference between those releases, however.

"She went and shot individual videos one by one by one," T.I. says. "That must’ve drove the cost through the roof...I’m doing three short stories. I’m not doing 18 videos. I’m doing three short stories. So the same way we would shoot an episode of House of Lies. We would take five days. This short story shall be complete. Five days, this short story shall be complete. See that will bring my cost down, which will raise my profit margin."

In January, T.I. spoke of his upcoming Paperwork album

“Me and Pharrell have a plethora [of songs],” T.I. said at the time. "We probably done recorded 14 records. Pharrell and I alone. Words couldn’t even begin to describe how cutting-edge, left-field and just how broad these records are. But they still have that texture that I speak of. They still have that Curtis Mayfield, Bobby Womack, a ridin’ dirty kind of … but a new way to present it to the world because it has that thing that Pharrell does to music that sets it apart from any and everything else that’s being played. And of course I had to give it the pulse of what I know. It’s incredible work. I did incredible work with Keno. I did incredible work with Sham [“Sak Pase” Joseph]. I have [a record] B.o.B [did] for me. It’s awesome.” 

(April 5, 2014)

UPDATE: T.I. has revealed the release date for his upcoming album, Paperwork: The Motion Picture.

The project is set to be released October 21, 2014, according to Billboard.

(August 25, 2014)

UPDATE #2: T.I.'s Paperwork: The Motion Picture's cover art is below.

(August 27, 2014)

UPDATE #3: The tracklist for T.I.'s Paperwork album has been released, according to XclusivesZone.net.

It is as follows:

1. King

2. G Shit (feat. Jeezy & WatchTheDuck)

3. About the Money (feat. Young Thug)

4. New National Anthem (feat. Skylar Grey)

5. Oh Yeah (feat. Pharrell)

6. Private Show (feat. Chris Brown)

7. No Mediocre (feat. Iggy Azalea)

8. Jet Fuel (feat. Lil Boosie)

9. Paperwork (feat. Pharrell)

10. Stay (feat. Victoria Monet)

11. About My Issue (feat. Victoria Monet & Nipsey Hussle)

12. At Ya Own Risk (feat. Usher)

13. On Doe, On Phil (feat. Trae The Truth)

14. Light Em Up (RIP Doe B) (feat. Pharrell & WatchTheDuck)

15. Let Your Heart Go (Break My Soul) (feat. The-Dream)

16. Sugar Cane

17. I Don’t Know

18. You Can Tell How I Walk (feat. Rick Ross)

RELATED: T.I. Details Pharrell's Work On "Paperwork: The Motion Picture" Album

Share This

Add New Comment

Got an account with one of these? Log in here, or just enter your info and leave a comment below.

  • * required field

Comments 108 Posts

  • uggs uk
    selling doesn't suggest something in the matter of clubs, even so i am not saying you have to dash off to around the best grass sale made for a collection of $17 palm me downs clogs incorporated.
  • sean claude
    not badd...its seems weel balanced with the features and all....i just hope it doesnt flop....for his sake...but no b.o.b...shame..this LP got the potential to be album of the year
  • Anonymous
    Who the hell is WatchTheDuck?
  • Frank Lopez
    You want me to believe T.I was a stoolie because niggas on DX said so maybe these niggas know something I don't know
  • Seor Sosa
    T.I put the Ramos brothers Ello and Gino away for life so how do I know you're not a chevato too
  • not feelin it
    them features look like shit
  • Anonymous
    fuck ti he anit no rubber band man anymore
  • it's a TRAP
    • Anonymous
      ti vs tip was he best he peaked a while ago
  • Anonymous
    15 features? wtf TIP
  • Anonymous
    Easy pass. This looks awful.
  • heretosolvetheissue
    He only has seven real rap features, ross,trae,jeezy,boosie.nipsey.thugger and iggy. Not to mention ross.trae,jeezy have NEVER out rapped t.i. on ANY of their previous collabs. In all, the production is going to be amazing(s/o to Pharell) and the album is going to flow cohesively, And it seems like he's going to give you those gems and message in songs like, stay,national anthem,on doe,on phil, light em up, about my issue, i don't know, and you can tell how I walk. EXPECT A GREAT FUCKING ALBUM come October 21, 2014
  • Anonymous
    Paper Trail >>>>>>>>>>>> Good Kid Mad City
  • imho
    you know TI is feeling the pressure- 100 guest features.. what happened to the days when solo albums were SOLO albums with like 3-4 features on that note..cant wait to hear kendricks album