Lyricist Lounge Hits The West Coast

posted April 25, 2003 12:00:00 AM CDT | 0 comments

Back when Rawkus Records was setting the trends and releasing nothing but classics, the legendary Lyricist Lounge open mic in NYC materialized into a classic double album from Rawkus. The brilliant showcase of underground talents such as Mos Def, Ras Kass, Reflection Eternal and Last Emporer his since sold 150,000 units.

Rawkus followed that up in 2000 with the decidedly more commercial Lyricist Lounge 2, which received plenty of exposure via the hit single Oh No with Pharoahe Monch, Mos Def and Nate Dogg. The latest version is dubbed West Coast Lyricist Lounge and will hit the streets on May 20th. Check the tracklisting:

1. Furious Let's Make Moves

2. Zion I feat. Pep Love Warriors Dance

3. Chino XL feat. Saafir Hot It Goes

4. Arcee feat. Encore Super Educated Pt.2

5. The Grouch Let's Rally

6. Groundbasics Ventalation

7. Motion Man feat. KutMasta Kurt Megalo Maniac

8. Ammbush feat. A-Plus & Zion I The Buzz

9. Blackfoot Blackfoot Allstars

10. Felonious Plasticmen

11. Mystik Journeymen feat. Luckyiam.PSC Lucky's Back!

12. King T feat. Kool G Rap & Tray D Nuthin Has Changed

13. Shade Sheist feat. Fabolous & Knoc-Turn'al

14. Rasco feat. KutMasta Kurt Ready 2 Rock w/ Us

15. D Tension feat. Encore It's Time

16. The Cuf Don't Stop

17. Mr. Fab The Biz

Share This

one moment...
Reply To This Comment

Got an account with one of these? Log in here, or just enter your info and leave a comment below.